A Pastor Revisited .. or.. Inconvenient Thoughts

If I had my way I’d enter back into the ministry willingly without having to be forced into it.

 Now, if I could just…

-Avoid the call I have to make to that mourning mother…

-Put off returning that missed call from my ‘Father in the Faith’….

-Delay sending that reply to that seeking, young man who said he needs Jesus, then MAYBE I’d have time to really think about what God wants me to do!

 Yesterday, I was thinking about what it would take for me to take a step back into the ministry.  For months (years) I’ve been avoiding my calling by wrapping it with noble pursuits…

-It’s time for me to step up & provide for my family. 

-I can finally be the daddy who never misses a field trip!

-I’m inspiring leaders and have a platform to impact 1,000’s

 And while all of these noble pursuits may accumulate a lot of ‘likes’ on social media (I mean, really, you should see my Klout Score!), they do little to sway the incessant prodding of the Holy Spirit.

 Here’s my Struggle: I feel God wants to use me in a mighty way in full-time ministry and it’s time to take bold action.

But I don’t wanna’.

 Honestly, I wear my faith louder than most, but I believe that I am compelled & commanded to do even more. From time to time I post boldly of my faith to social media, but only as a release valve when the pressure of conviction rises to high to bear.  Fact is, I want to be liked .

 I remember , just yesterday, wondering if I would ever just obediently step back into my role as a pastor because it was the right thing to do.

If history has proven anything it’s that I am a stubborn, sloth-like learner; disobedient & down right defiant at times.  I’m a bride who must be swooned and won…again & again; a whore at times.

24hrs ago I pictured myself being called to do the funeral of one of my teens from back in my days of ministry.  “That might jolt me back into the pulpit.”, I thought. God forbid it would take that for me to simply be obedient.

 -And then, this morning, I learned that T.J. died.

-And I missed a call at 11pm last night from a spiritual mentor who could only be calling me for one reason.

-And I awoke to a totally unrelated message that hung, suspended in my inbox from a young man that simply read:

 “Hey, I need help.  Been away for too long…realized the only thing I need is Jesus cause nothing else is working. Deep valleys give way to low tides.”

 

Image

 

So I ask myself now: What does, ‘entering back into the ministry’, even mean?

 

I think I’ll start with just taking action on these 3 things…Who knows…

Maybe I’m in full-time ministry already and only just now realized it.

 

rob

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on May 16, 2013, in Faith, Life, Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

