What a Man Needs Most

whatamanneedsmost.jpgLadies, do you know what your man needs more than anything?  Oh, I’m certain I know what he says he WANTS more than anything.  But do you know what his deepest need is?

I’m going to keep this blog simple and to the point.

Your man needs to know that he is enough. That he has what it takes. That you believe in his ability to accomplish the mission.

Years ago, I discovered a profound truth in John Eldrege’s book, Wild at Heart. It said,

“In the heart of every man is a desperate desire for a battle to fight, an adventure to live, and a beauty to rescue,”

This truth has rattled in my brain now for nearly a decade and only recently have I fully realized it’s power.  This revelation has actually impacted what I used to hold dear as my favorite scenes from some classic films.

When I was in my teens and twenties I recall absolutely being inspired by the final scene of a good guy movie.  Rocky (just pick one) and Cinderella Man were 2 of my all-time favorites. I used to literally fast forward to that final scene where our hero comes through and takes down the antagonist. That one glorious moment would always inspire me to persevere & fight whatever Goliath I was currently facing in my life. These days however, it’s the scene right before the big scene that I find myself craving & savoring.  You know the one….when our hero has the doubts. When his head is hung low. When he’s recalling all the times he’s failed.

This is the moment when we’re introduced to the TRUE antagonist in the story. That small yet deafening whisper of fear & doubt.

My favorite scene in a movie now rests in that holy moment when the beauty he’s been fighting for goes to battle on her man’s behalf.  Strong belief, measured words and a promise to celebrate this victory on the other side are her weapons of choice.  And they are all he needs.

I’m convinced that men today are still searching for a battle to fight, an adventure to live and a beauty to rescue even if they don’t realize it yet.

Ladies, fight for your man. It’s what he needs the most.

Check out these two posts on this subject from some ladies who I really have a bunch of respect for:

-You MUST meet Genevieve West, and read her post called, Men, Be a Woman But With a Penis

-Shanna Delap shares a very personal & transparent post on her blog. Click HERE to take a look!

Posted on June 6, 2013, in Faith, Family, Fatherhood, Health, Leadership, Life, Marriage, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great post 🙂 I try my best to let my main dude know he IS enough! (because he is…he is really truly wonderful)…but sometimes we get caught up in “Well so-and-so did that” and “so-and-so bought this” that we forget to just focus on our own relationships, and our own needs.

    This is a great reminder!

    • Thanks for the response, Rachel. None of us gets it perfect all the time…alas, it’s not about perfection but, rather, the process. Sounds like your heart & actions are in the right place 🙂 Thanks again!

  2. I love this. The only thing that ever holds me back from doing this is for a man to tell me again and again and again and again that he’s trash, and not believe me when I say he’s treasure. He has to accept that I am not lying nor just telling him what he wants to hear. He needs to believe me.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Indy

    • Thanks for sharing, Indy. The point you make is so relevant. Our biggest opponent is us. We are, “the true antagonist in the story. That small yet deafening whisper of fear & doubt.”

      I appreciate your feedback!

  1. Pingback: Men: be a woman, but with a penis. | Genevieve C. West

Leave a Reply

