Here’s Why I Retired From Teaching: A Year in Review

Image

If you’re anticipating some negative rant about why I hated teaching then you’ve come to the wrong place. Here’s the truth:

I never intended to leave teaching and I miss those kids a LOT.

Here’s another Truth: This has been the most fulfilling year of my life!

Today is the day I’d be walking into school with my comfy flip-flops and a baseball cap and checking off those final things on my ‘End of Year’ list.  I would arrive a bit late to my empty-ish classroom, wait for my check-out appointment and then head back into my classroom for one last, nostalgic look before heading off into FREEDOM.

For 15 years I’ve been looking forward to this day, but this year I simply call it, Friday.

Most people will never understand why I retired.  It’s easy to dismiss my decision to a selfish desire to chase money or fame or restlessness. Those who never took the time to really know me still think I retired for those reasons.

The truth is that I grew weary of only being able to open the gate towards freedom when someone else decided it was time to open it.  I never, for a minute, had a problem with the folks I was in the field with or the gatekeeper who opened & shut the gate each day.  That’s the system I signed up for. I just grew weary of THAT system.  For the first time in 2012-13 I’ve had the privilege to experience the Freedom of Summer all year!

I never intended to leave the teaching profession but I’m thankful that I did.  Here are a few reasons why?

-I watched a slide show the other day of my son’s 1st grade year in review.  Guess who was in every field trip & classroom centers pic.  Daddy!

– I got to drop off AND pick up the kids everyday. I got to wipe the tears AS THEY FELL when they were hurt on the outside or within. WIN!

– I had the privilege of bringing my children lunch and simply sitting with them in the middle of a typical day!

– I had plenty of time to coach people through their weight loss, active, fitness & financial transformations with Visalus!  Where I used to call this a job it is now my full-time Business.  It is MY responsibility to open & shut the gates.

– I had the privilege of going on countless dates with my bride whenever I felt like it! We prayed, talked, strategized, cried & frustrated the snot out of each other more times than I can count. But we experienced all this TOGETHER!!!

In short, I experienced the freedom I’ve been longing for.

Many thanks to all who’ve supported me on this journey.

The best is YET to come!

Moving Forward,

Rob

Image

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on June 7, 2013, in Business, Family, Fatherhood, Health, Leadership, Life, Marriage, MLM | Network Marketing, Parenting, Project 10 Kids, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

