The Day Daddy Listened: A Blueprint for Fatherhood

The single biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place

156652_10150131683844447_7515817_n

The older I get the more I agree with George Bernard Shaw. I think he was probably married for a while before he came up with that gem right there.

I’m entering 15 years of both marital bliss and parenting and I find myself more and more certain that I’m the problem.

You see, I have a gift with words; and, alas, my gift is also my curse.

This blog isn’t gonna’ be long & drawn out. I simply wanted to get this out there:

I’m going to make an effort to listen more.

To ask questions.

To not presume that I know how the sentences of my wife & kids’ will end even if I’m probably right.

I’ve developed a nasty habit of leaning into my words to win the argument when it was only supposed to only be a conversation.

Being a husband and a daddy is a messy business…it’s also my primary business.

I stopped to listen to my son as he was shuffling off to bed tonight. His eyes met mine & I asked him what he was thinking. He asked me if all of the family could read for 30 minutes. While this may sound sorta silly & inconsequential to you I assure you it was the most sacred 30 minutes of the day.

I didn’t rush him off to bed.
I didn’t put him off with a, “Maybe tomorrow, buddy.”
Our family read; and so it begins.

Here we Grow again!

This video made me LOL. Statistically, more guys think this video is hilarious than women. View accordingly.

Posted on June 9, 2013, in Family, Fatherhood, Life, Marriage, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha, I saw this video on Reddit. It’s funny (because it’s true).

    I try to see things from my kids point of view all the time. I often fail, but at least I’m conscious of having to do that. Should probably do that with the wife too…

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! Perfection is certainly not the goal as I’ve got miles to go to get close to that. Like you, I just want to get better each day! I appreciate the feedback so much!

Leave a Reply

