How to Raise a Son After Divorce- A Tribute to My Father

Image

Every time my dad shows up we buy a grill or something.

My father is a man of instinct, compassion & action. He is a restless soul who is not content unless he is loving others well.  Like a worn forest path he is rough yet tender & crafted to serve others on their journey.

This is not a step by step list of how to raise boys after divorce.  Rather, it is a listing of the deliberate actions one man took to make sure he was a father for his children despite no longer being a husband to their mother.

-My dad is that guy who will strike up a conversation with the waitress and find out all about her family.

-At Christmas time, he dresses as Santa Claus just so he can walk into places with his long white beard and make kids eyes go wide with wonder.

-He’s the guy who never pretended not to see the homeless guy asking for a handout but, rather, walked towards that man with some cash and a word of encouragement.

-My dad has forever had a joke to share with others and most of the time it’s not entirely clean.  He shares it because it’s funny.  I was 10 yrs. old when he told me a joke about mothballs as we were both miserably wandering around a curtain store.  “I think you’re old enough for that one now.”, he proclaimed.

-My father would always take me trout fishing on opening day of the season.  I think I caught a fish once but when you get up that early & prepare that much it’s seldom about that kind of thing anyway.

-Dad always let me know that he loved my mom and was sure to let the world know even though they separated before I was out of diapers.

– Rumor has it my dad shot a great-horned owl when he was just a teenager.  The local paper did a story on it and a fish & game officer came by a few days later to confiscate it & probably issue him a hefty fine.  “It was a turkey and I think the dogs dragged it off somewhere last night.” was the response the law got that day.  I can tell you that, to this day, there may or may not be a stuffed great-horned owl lamp in my father’s home.

-My dad always lived far away but I remember him at my band concerts & events.  I know he wasn’t at them all but I remember thinking how difficult it must’ve been to get all the way to my school for a 7pm concert on a work day. I always appreciated that.

-My father once bought me a weight set and threw his back out getting it to the Christmas tree.  I was in my 30’s before I heard this story & I found it remarkable that he didn’t make a big deal about his injury because it would’ve taken away from my gift.

-Bob Beaudreault is an amazing father who loves others more than himself.  He is one of the most kind, giving & encouraging men I’ve ever met and it is an honor to be his son. A few years back he randomly apologized to me for not buying me a new mattress when he knew it needed to be replaced.  It was in that moment that I realized a lot about my dad.

My father is a man of instinct, compassion & action. He is a restless soul who is not content unless he is loving others well.  Like a worn forest path he is rough yet tender & crafted to serve others on their journey.

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on June 16, 2013, in Family, Fatherhood, Life, Marriage, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

