The Saddest Dreamer of All: Congratulations Walt

I think this world has good intentions. I always see positive platitudes plastered wherever I look on social media & commercials. It seems at every turn someone is trying to encourage me (maybe themselves) to ‘follow my heart’, or ‘Chase my dream’. Come to think of it I can’t recall the last time someone encouraged me to ‘Embrace Mediocrity’ or ‘Soak in the Glow of Resentment’. But this morning I heard a song and it kinda slapped me in my smile just a bit.

I’m in my second reading of Jon Acuff’s book, Start. The first time I approached it much like I would approach the first beef enchilada when I know I still have 2 left. In chapter 2 he referenced a song by John Mayer, and it is the saddest songs I’ve ever heard.

Now, we’ve all heard sad songs.

-When I was younger they centered around breakups,

-In my 20’s a sad song for me centered around some ‘system’ that was going to force me to grow up & be responsible.

-The minute I entered Fatherhood I fell apart anytime I heard a sentimental chorus involving sons, daughters or their mommy.

But now I’m on the precipice of 40 and I’m just now getting a foothold on living a life of significance. I want to matter. But here’s the catch…I don’t want to change the world alone.

‘Walt Grace’s Submarine Test, January 1967’ by John Mayer is the story of a man who had a dream. He painstakingly developed the skills to make his dream a reality. He had the perseverance and resolve to move forward towards his passionate pursuit despite the heckling crowd of naysayers.

If Walt Grace was paying any attention to social media & self help (self-hurt books??) back in 1967 he would’ve been very pleased. Encouragements of, “Keep going, Walt!”, would certainly pepper his comment section. But there is a problem.

Walt is a married man with children and spends his days just searching for silence from the ‘noise’ that has become his life. He has alienated those he loves to pursue a selfish passion full-time.

Here’s something I think we all need to do right now.

I encourage you today to identify your dream and invest a few moments on what your finish line looks like. Walt Grace made his dream a reality. He ‘Just Did it’. His chest broke the tape guarding that finish line he’d had his sights on all those years.

And he celebrated alone.

Congratulations, Walt.

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on June 22, 2013, in Family, Fatherhood, Health, Leadership, Marriage, Random, Relationships, StartEXP and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am so glad you wrote about Walt! I had never heard the song when I discovered him in Acuff’s work of brilliance that you mention in this post. I am proud to be a dreamer, proud to know I am free to choose to follow the path of the pack or create my own path. But as much as I want to dream, I must also accept where I am today – even if I feel stuck!

    Getting stuck in today is something I am sure everyone has experienced in their lives. They look around them and they see a mess. How in the world could they get out of it? The only answer, they think, is to just do it, get out, go, chase the dream. But there IS another option – To make today right, we must improve ourselves. If we are not happy with today, we have to own that we created it. We got ourselves here. Everything we do (or don’t do) is a choice.

    Then, we have to decide what we want to do about it. (Running is not the best option, usually). Walt’s alternative was to stay and deal with a mess, and it wasn’t going to be easy, but it was his mess and it’s time we all realized that we’re responsible, and then ACT responsible. Dreams are important, but reality is too.

    Great post. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

