Courage at the Tip of a Hat – A Tribute To the Bravest Woman I Know

courage.jpgYou took the news honestly.  It hurt bad and you allowed it to.

You’ve always held the undisputed title for me as the healthiest person I’ve ever known.  I must admit, it came as such a shock when I heard the news that you would be doing battle with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.

I want to share with all my readers about the bravest woman I know.  Her name is Diane, and she has a knack for making life better for every person she meets.

– Diane grows & juices her own wheat grass shots.  She knows more about holistic health than anyone I’ve ever met, but is also the best student of health I’ve ever seen.  She was organic before organic was cool yet never makes a person feel stupid for just now learning about it.

– Diane has a smile that lights up a room. When her eyes lock onto yours in conversation you feel like you’re the most important person on the planet.  She’d be quick to let you know that you are!

– The chemo treatments have begun & they don’t play fair or nice.  Funny thing is, I’d never have known they had started unless it just came up in conversation.  She goes about life as if it’s a typical Saturday and she wasn’t in such a prolific battle.

– Sometimes the chemo makes her sick.  If that’s happening, she’ll let you know but she’ll also be the first to shout praise when the minute the pain passes.  She clothes herself in hope & wears dignity as a crown upon her head…oh yeah, her head…….

Diane, you sat across from me yesterday at dinner with that white baseball cap covering your freshly trimmed hair.  It had started falling out in clumps and you decided to take control.  The lady at Walmart cried as she cut it and you shared your story with her.

The night breeze was blowing across our table at Patio 850.  I promised you that I’d remove my hat if you would do the same.  That familiar grin spread wide across your face as you courageously set that hat on the table.  “That feels so much better!”, you exclaimed.

I wanted to always remember that moment so I snapped this picture of us.

Diane, you ARE that cool, refreshing breeze to the world around you! 

You are not empty positivity clothed in a a false facade of hope.  You are the real deal, and I wanted to thank you for it.

I admire you and the way you approach your victories and your challenges.  You are winning and WILL win this battle.

Thanks for being such a champion and for being such a beautiful fighter.

Honestly, you are the bravest woman I know!

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on July 7, 2013, in Faith, Health, Life, Poetry, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a special woman. Good luck to the bravest woman you know as she fights this battle.

  2. Rob, great post. The past 7 months I’ve watched my pastor’s wife battle breast cancer with absolute resolve and grace.

    She’s gone from cancer victim, to cancer patient, to cancer survivor.

    From the picture, you can tell Diane is on the same path!

    Great tribute!

  3. Rob, great post. The past 7 months I’ve watched my pastor’s wife battle breast cancer with absolute resolve and grace.

    She’s gone from cancer victim, to cancer patient, to cancer survivor.

    From the picture, you can tell Diane is on the same path!

    Great tribute!

Leave a Reply

