From a Blogger to Both of My Readers

Image

My daughter and I in Times Square enjoying a random guy just destroying our moment.

Somebody called me a blogger today. I  don’t know quite what this label comes with but I’m not certain it matters much. I’m new to this blogging thing although I’m no stranger to writing.  For the most part I’ve spent the last 3 years honing my craft on Facebook and have been pretty much crushing it.  1-3 sentence blogs are easier than having a website that folks show up to.  My Facebook friends are pretty much stuck with me but if you hate my blog once chances are you won’t be back.

I didn’t start my blog to make money.  I’m not even sure I knew that was possible when I started.  I’m not above monetizing my blog (I just learned that term.)  I’m afraid this might accidentally start feeling like work so I’ll avoid that temptation for a while until I know more.

In the meantime, I’m really just trying to figure out what to write about next.  I have this dream of being published one day but I don’t know how all that happens.  I learned a few things yesterday, though.

I crave for others to like my words.  For their tone to inspire you to respond in some way that does not involve being repulsed.

I still can’t understand what makes people get to the bottom of my blog.  It thrills me that you’re reading my thoughts, passions and ideas.  I seek to serve you, the reader, while releasing what’s been going on in my head all this time. True Confession:  I’ve been wanting to write a book.

Yesterday I spoke with my friend, Grant, and I asked him a question that had been rolling in my mind for a while, “Who am I to write a book?” His response to me was life-changing and I’ll unpack it in another post because it has me feeling a bit raw still.

I’m now rolling over another question in my head: “Rob, who are you NOT to write a book?”

It’s amazing what speaking to the right person will do to a dream.  Throw your dream out there friends…it matters!

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Blogging, Business, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Love this post! Who are you NOT to write a book?? My START is my book also. It’s been in my heart for a long time and officially started in January. One of the hardest things along with fear is self doubt. You are a great writer and I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

