The Myth of Motivation – Swallow That Frog

Image

Activity Trumps Motivation Every Time

I used to have this belief that I needed a healthy dose of motivation before I could take action.  This fallacy found it’s roots in my noble pursuit of personal development.

You may have started reading this blog in your own quest to be motivated.  If that’s you, I’m going to challenge you with a task.  I’ll actually be taking on the same challenge for a 24 day challenge I’ve volunteered for inspired by Jon Acuff’s amazing book, START!

In my life I have discovered that motivation is actually overrated.  The truth of the matter is that I am most productive after I begin taking action on a task.  Here’s my theory:

Action CREATES Motivation

Right now, I want you to identify the task you’ve been putting off as of late.  Chances are this activity is not urgent but it is important.  I want you to commit to completing that task TODAY before you even do any of the other, more urgent, things on your to-do list.  This technique of tackling the BIG stuff is called, “Swallowing the Frog.”

Here’s my theory:  The satisfaction you will feel in having finally completed the 1 thing you’ve been putting off for so long will actually inspire you to bust right through the rest of your list.

Motivation is a trap.  It is quite a shiny and lovely thing and certainly has it’s place in the arena of success but, it is not the main ingredient for winning.  Activity trumps motivation each and every time.  So here is my theory:

Action creates Motivation

Motivation without Action = Frustration

 If you’ve been finding yourself increasingly frustrated and less productive then chances are you’ve fallen into the Motivation Trap.

If you have been inspired by the words I have shared with you that is called motivation.

If you allow yourself to take immediate action that is a victory.

It’s your move…go out there and swallow that frog.

Be sure to share your “Frogs” below and let me know how this concept helped you!

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on July 13, 2013, in Business, Leadership, MLM | Network Marketing, Parenting, StartEXP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That is just what I needed! Great incite. I’m big on motivation, and there always seems to be that one thing that gets put off that frustrates me to no end. I love the analogy. I’m going to swallow that frog!

  2. This is the same concept that drives the success of Dave Ramsey’s Debt Snowball model. Start with an easily attainable goal, paying off your smallest debt. Take ACTION on that step first. The emotional “oomph” you feel from seeing the progress drives your motivation higher and higher.

    I really like your take the way this work. We (humanity in general) often spend (read: waste) far too much time trying to “get motivated” to get in the gym, go for a run, take a class, clean the house, get out of bed. Great stuff, Rob.

  3. “Action creates motivation”. I love it! And it is so true. The more we put something off, the easier it is not to do it. Great blog for our Start Experiment!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

