KAIROS – The Art of Being There

Kairos: (καιρός)

An ancient Greek word meaning the right or opportune moment

(The supreme moment).

There is a moment I long for when the clock releases it’s shackles on my day and all that is urgent drifts away.  This is Kairos.

A holy moment when eye contact, hushed conversation, laughter or sacred silence is more than enough.  This is Kairos.

Chronos: (Χρόνος)

An ancient Greek word meaning time as it is measured.

(Time on the Move)

In a world of rushed-rhythms and hurried-hustle I long for the moments when Mighty Chronos yawns, stretches his arms, and bows to the full weight of time. This is Kairos.

Take Make the time to deliberately summon Kairos whether through questions, or eye contact or intentional pause. Time is fleeting unless you claim it. This is Kairos.

Chronos has only the power we allow it to possess.

Seek Kairos.

Claim Your Life!

Image

Celebrate the power of a moment. Seek Kairos.
Photo Credit: http://www.fireflyimageworks.com

 

This post was inspired by my friend, Grant Neiddu’s, powerful talk at the Claim Your Life seminar on July 16, 2013 in Lakeland, Fl.

 

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Leadership, Life, Poetry, Relationships, Speaking, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Rob,

    I love how succinctly you put this together. I feel like I took ages to really pull it together. You knocked it dead in a super concise way. Thank you for the hat tip! Let me know if I can serve you at all, brother. I hope your bride is recovered from her marathon surgery!

  2. Very well put. I seek kairos a lot and sometimes find it. Now I have a name for it.x

  3. Congratulations!
    I have nominated you for a Liebster Award. Please link to
    http://scottishmomus.wordpress.com/2013/07/25/im-late/ for further instructions.
    This note will self-destruct in ten seconds.
    10…..9…..8…..7…..6…..5…..4…..3…..

Leave a Reply

