My Top 3 Fears and How I Punch Them in the Face

MyTop3FearsWhen I was a kid I always feared rejection.

Whenever I was accepted, I feared losing it.

Fear is a Liar.

When I was a young man, I always feared being unloved.

When I finally had someone’s hand to hold I feared they’d pull it away.

Fear is a Thief.

As a married man with 6 children, I fear I am not being enough for them.

When my bride assures me that I am enough I dismiss her words and dwell instead on what I know I could be if I just tried harder.

Fear says you’re not enough.

I’d love to be able to wrap this post up with a nice, little bow of reconciliation about how I conquered fear once and for all, but that wouldn’t be honest. I think it’s always gonna’ be there in some way.  38 years and counting so far…

I think of this question often: Without fear, what kind of plot would there be in my story anyway? It certainly wouldn’t be a book worth reading!

I’ve found a bit of relief in these words:

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”

Nelson Mandela

I’m pretty certain that the best I can do today is to decide to be brave once more.

To show courage when fear whispers and take just one more shaky step forward.

And in so doing,  punch Fear full in the face!

Where is fear telling you not to go?

What’s 1 step you can take toward that place today?

Do it!

*This post was inspired by Jon Acuff’s book, START!  If you haven’t read it yet, click the link and get a copy like, NOW!  It is that good!
About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Blogging, Faith, Family, Leadership, Life, Marriage, Parenting, Relationships, Speaking, StartEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have had all of those fears and more in my nearly 31 years of life, but I love that quote because it’s so true. And really what is a great story without conflict to overcome, without a dragon to slay? God is all about amazing stories and it’s through trusting Him to battle these fears and see how He’s using them to develop us, we really can do anything.

    • Spot on observations, my friend! You sounded a bit like one of my favorite authors, John Eldridge, there for a bit when you spoke of dragons 🙂

      • Haha, I love his books. I bought “Wild at Heart” for my fiance to read and I wound up hogging it from him because I got so sucked into the book. I’ve also read “Captivating” and the one he wrote with Brett…can’t think of his last name or the title of the book.

        I really agree with so much of it, that life is an adventure and we’re really not doing ourselves any favors if we allow fear to incapacitate us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

