When Fear Wears Lipstick

ImageFear is my enemy.  I’ve heard it said that I should keep my friends close & my enemies closer so I like to study my opponent any chance I get.  I discovered something about fear this morning that I never realized.  It turns out that fear can be your loudest cheerleader if that’s what it takes!

If I asked you what fear whispers to you  our answers would, no doubt, be similar:

-Who are you to do that?

-What will your friends & family think if you attempted that?

-You have failed every time you’ve tried that before?

-You’ll do that one day. Now’s just not the right time.

Oh, yes, Fear can be a bully!  But Fear can also be a great encourager!  Here’s what I learned about my enemy this morning from author & speaker, Jon Acuff:

“I’ve learned something new about fear recently. Whenever you are about to make a big decision. Whenever you are about to change jobs, start a business, or write a book, fear goes on a marketing campaign.

Fear will whisper, “Your current job isn’t so bad! Look how good the benefits are! Look at how nice people are to you. Look at how great this situation really is.” Instead of attacking you and telling you that you’ll fail in the new job, it launches an advertising campaign geared at how happy you’d be if you stayed put.”

Jon Acuff, Day 5/24 – Start Experiment 201

Friends, every now and again you run across a capital ‘T’ Truth & I am embracing this as one of those teachings.

My encouragement to you is to be aware that the voice of fear oftentimes likes to masquerade as the voice of Reason.

Fear is a liar and wants to keep you from becoming all that you were designed & crafted to be.  Fear as a bully serves to bring you lower while fear the cheerleader desperately tries to create a ceiling of contentedness.

Nothing silences the voice of fear quite like taking action does.

Go out & today & be Audacious… START Now!

Check out my Top 3 Fears and How I Punched Them in the Face!

About challengeyourfamily

I'm just a family guy with an amazing wife & 6 kids. I love to observe, think & ask questions. I love writing, enjoy the process, crave the finished product but ALWAYS put it off. My wife & I work our business full-time with one another from home and help people experience physical & financial transformations. This Blog is designed to help me sort through life. I hope it's helpful to you, as well.

Posted on August 16, 2013, in Community, Health, Leadership, Life, Relationships, Speaking, StartEXP and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This one was huge for me today too, as it’s something I’ve realized is happening to me. Fear is trying to coddle me back into my comfort zone by telling me, “You don’t need to change a thing. Keep doing what you’re doing. It’s good enough.” No, no, no, no.

Leave a Reply

